Rss Feed
Tweeter button
Facebook button
Digg button
Stumbleupon button

Articles Comments

TnT Unleashed 1pic4twenty Blog » Blogging, Random » WE DO NOT want traffic from Aim Trust, aimtrust, or any other site of theirs.

WE DO NOT want traffic from Aim Trust, aimtrust, or any other site of theirs.

 

Aim Trust Aim Trust Aim Trust Aim Trust Aim Trust can you see this?
Aimtrust aimtrust aimtrust PLEASE REMOVE OUR WEBSITE LINK FROM WHEREVER IT IS ON YOUR SITES. WE DO NOT WANT TRAFFIC FROM YOUR AIM TRUST SITES!

Okay, our usual readers, we guess you can see we’re angry. We’re not sure if there’s any harm in getting traffic from aim trust aim trust aim trust, but we don’t like it because when we type in aim trust on Google, we just get scam scam scam all over the place in the results.

We don’t want Google getting upset with us for having a bad site linking to us. Is that possible, can anyone tell us? Will Google get upset if we have sites with a bad reputation linking to our site, as in stop indexing our pages or something? And why can’t we find our link on the aim trust pages?

We cannot find a link to our site on their sites, and we cannot seem to get it right trying to contact them or their website host – the contact form captcha keeps saying wrong captcha even though it’s not and the live help doesn’t seem to be real.

We are getting traffic from http://aimtrust.com/aim/r/60008 and from http://aimtrust.com and after trying to sort it out with whoever we could, but not coming right, we’re now also getting traffic from another site of theirs http://bankinfodata.net
Is aimtrust doing this to a lot of people’s sites, and why is aimtrust aimtrust aimtrust doing this!? I’ts nasty spam! We really hope this particluar post gets picked up easily in Google results so that somebody can see this and offer us some advice or put our minds to rest that we need not worry about getting traffic from Aim Trust. Would rather not have the traffic though. Thanks.

Written by Owners of this site

Filed under: Blogging, Random · Tags: , ,

19 Responses to "WE DO NOT want traffic from Aim Trust, aimtrust, or any other site of theirs."

  1. I have the same problem on about five of my blogs (all different niches). Maybe this will help?

    “In the meantime, both the domains theinvestblog.com and aimtrust.com are heavily involved in referrer spamming – sending false referrer information to a mass of websites to try and gain traffic from curious webmasters checking their logs.”

    the investblog com spam and aimtrust com ponzi scheme fraud

    Steven Richardson´s last blog ..Be Careful Of Unsolicited Link Requests Through Email My ComLuv Profile

  2. Mark says:

    Hi, found your page while googling for this referal url to my own site: http:// aimtrust. com/aim/r/ 60008

    Most results from google just show access logs, yep it seems to be a new type of spam in our logs.

    Best thing to do is exclude the aimtrust domain for any logs. Next step is to ban the visitor IP (or IP range if you can box them into one).

  3. Mark says:

    Also, the referral pages do not actually exist!! The urls are likely different as some way to track it all! :)

  4. MyBooksForum says:

    We are getting the same thing, loads of visits coming from aimtrust.com/aim/r/60008 but no link to us anywhere on the site.
    Anyone got any more info on this.

  5. Campbell says:

    I’ve just found this blog article after finding aimtrust in my own awstats reports. Thanks for the information.

    I’m not sure if they are using different URLs for tracking as my log also contains the r/60008 link.

    Fortunately all referrals are from the same IP address, which is about to get itself an entry in my firewall rules.

  6. Thanks for the comments, everyone – we see in our web stats that the traffic coming from aimtrust, or other sites that seem to be affiliated with them in one way or another, has slowed down a little. Still quite a few from theinvestblog which we’d rather not have, but generally the amount of traffic seems to be not so much of a concern now (all this odd traffic from aimtrust or the investblog). What we do notice, however, is that there are other sites in our stats doing the same thing – sending traffic to our site/s but we can’t find our link on their sites – now, are these sites affiliated to aimtrust or theinvestblog, or have they also worked out what to do to get a whole bunch of curious website owners to visit their site/s? It’s not nice.
    Terry and Tony´s last blog ..2010 World Cup football in South Africa and the school holidays My ComLuv Profile

  7. americalex says:

    Same for http://www.annexation.ca, getting roughly 60 unique visitors from them a month, I guess I’ll have to block their I.P. as you guys have.

    What kind of scheme is this anyway! Pushing spam traffic on sites? We definitely need to build a list of sites that are targeted to detect a commonality or pattern in their action.

  8. americalex says:

    Another thing. Their domain I.P. pegs to the British Virgin Islands, whatever that means.

  9. Hi americalex and thanks for the two comments – we have not blocked the IP yet, so not sure why it slowed down a bit – don’t think all our moaning about it, and trying to contact them (aimtrust) could have really helped, but one never knows…maybe they felt bad, although we doubt it. If it had to get bad again, we could consider following steps to block their IP, but now there’s something new coming, or maybe it’s here already, not sure, must go look at the forum where we saw it mentioned and read it again, that allows people to change their IP at will – which seems a bit sad and silly to allow, because spammers can then spam to their heart’s content, then change their IP address, spam some more, then change their IP address again, etc.

    We also took the route of trying to find out where they were – and the British Virgin Islands is not necessarily where they stay, but where their website servers are located.

    Terry and Tony´s last blog ..We received our first ever Google adsense cheque (check?) in the post today! My ComLuv Profile

  10. Here we go, found the forum post about the IP address changing thing, on a Site-Reference forum, called Google DNS

    Terry and Tony´s last blog ..We received our first ever Google adsense cheque (check?) in the post today! My ComLuv Profile

  11. Mark Brian says:

    Getting the same thing and while I blocked the aimtrust site. the r/60008 site I cannot block because I cannot find the IP. WTH?

  12. Erick says:

    I’m having the same crap with investblog and aimtrust on my website (patriot-fire.org): referals with no links on their webpage to mine.

    I had no clue what was going on, but reading your article, I figure it’s fairly common.

    I guess the best plan is to ignore it??

    Anyhoo…email me if you find a solution. I’m more than likely going to ignore them as I’ve been doing so for months now.

    Patriot-Fire.org

  13. Hi Erick,
    yes, we have just pretty much ignored it, and it seems to have eased off a bit. If you follow the orange link further above to a site that describes Google DNS, you’ll see that it’s pointless sometimes trying to block an IP address (if you even know it in the first place) as spammers can just change their IP address each time they leave a comment on a blog.

  14. Rob G. says:

    It involves phishing.

  15. AndyB says:

    I agree – it’s extremely annoying

    I have blocked this through an entry in my .htaccess file which has worked for both theinvestblog and aimtrust. Code on how to do this is widely available on the net – just Google it or try this Best Host Ratings site article for starters: block referrer spam

  16. No it will not harm your site. Google knows that your reputable site cannot control all the incoming links from bad neighbourhoods. If it is happening to many reputable blogs from the same “bad” website then you know you are safe.

    You may be finding traffic from their website due to some search facility on one of the pages? Not sure but this could explain why you cannot find your link on their site. Just don’t link to them and you should be safe.

  17. bundublog says:

    I have not seen any comments from them but will keep an eye-out. Whay don’t you just use Akismet for comment spam?

  18. Terry and Tony says:

    Hi bundublog and thanks for the comment. No, they don’t leave comments, that’s not what it’s about at all. We do use Akismet – Akismet is for comments, not what is discussed above. Anyway, it seems to have calmed down, although other sites have jumped on the bandwagon of this irritating craze, and we’re getting some unwanted traffic from other sources now too – still not too much, yet.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv Enabled